Date Published:

SPAR Scotland is celebrating 3 SPAR Scotland honours from the prestigious 2010 Scottish Local Retailer (SLR) Awards. Two awards were won by stores owned and operated by SPAR Scotland wholesaler and retailer CJ Lang and Son Ltd. SPAR Hillfoot Road, Ayr took home the title: ‘Bread Retailer of the Year’, while SPAR Thornliebank scooped ‘Soft Drinks Retailer of the Year’. Independent SPAR retailer Omar Nasir was awarded for ‘News Trade Retailer of the Year’ for the store in Leven Street, Motherwell.

Organised by leading convenience store magazine Scottish Local Retailer, the event is a highlight in the Scottish retail calendar. Held at Radisson SAS Hotel, Glasgow on Thursday 17th June, Sky Sports news presenter Millie Clode announced the winners from the intensive judging process.

The SPAR stores are no strangers to winning awards; SPAR Hillfoot Road store manager Lynn Boyd accepted the ‘Bread Retailer of the Year’ award for the second year in a row while Omar Nasir’s Motherwell SPAR store last year took one of the North Champion titles at the Wiseman Awards. Indeed, SPAR Thornliebank’s win also comes as no surprise to a store that consistently achieves a high standard and boasts a wide variety of products.

In addition to the three store wins a further eight stores were highly commended in a variety of categories from Community Involvement to Confectionery Retailer of the Year. Indeed, the awards proved a great night for SPAR, highlighting the commitment by the SPAR stores to provide the highest possible standard and exceed customer expectations.

List of SPAR Winners at 2010 Scottish Local Retailer Awards.


Soft Drinks Retailer of the Year
•SPAR Thornliebank

Bread Retailer of the Year
•SPAR Hillfoot Road, Ayr

Newstrade Retailer of the Year
•Omar Nasir, SPAR Motherwell


Crisps & Snacks Retailer of the Year
•SPAR Thornliebank

Milk Retailer of the Year
•Billy Kay, South Street, Greenock
•SPAR Camelon
•Saleem Sadiq, SPAR Renfrew

Bread Local Retailer
•SPAR Broomhill

Confectionery Local Retailer of the Year
•SPAR Charlotte Dundas

Beers, Wines & Spirits Retailer of the Year –
•Colin Landsburgh, SPAR High Street, Carnoustie

Newstrade Retailer of the Year
•Colin Landsburgh, SPAR Barry Road

Community Involvement of the Year
•Colin Landsburgh, SPAR High Street

Attached image shows

L-R David Dick (Coca Cola Enterprises), Gerry Haughey, Millie Clode (host)
L-R Millie Harasymiuk-Mackenzie (Allied Bakeries), Lynn Boyd, Millie Clode